The Official Lovepacs Blog

Snow Days

photo As children, most of us looked forward to snow days.  We would stay up late watching the news, hoping to hear the name of our school district.  We would get ready slowly in the morning, praying that we would get a reprieve from that homework we didn’t finish or that test we had scheduled.  And when we did, most of us felt the utter joy of freedom to run and play and not have to sit and think.

Even as an adult, I love snow days.  In the busyness of our world, there’s something magical about a day off surrounded by our family. I still get giddy with excitement when I hear our school district is closed–even though I know it means we will make it up later.  Even though at some point in the day, my girls will tell me they’re bored or will argue with each other.  It’s still worth it.

We’ve had a lot of snow days this school year, and while, I still love them and embrace them, they are bittersweet for me.  As I watch my daughters laugh with utter joy at pulling each other on a boogie board over the ice, I can’t help but also think about the kids who are not as fortunate as mine.  The kids who are home alone today and may not have food in their house to eat.  The kids who rely on school to get breakfast and lunch–meals that fill their tummy and make up for not having dinner at home.

When I was a kid, and  left food on my plate, I always felt guilty about the “kids in Ethiopia that were starving and would love to eat the stuff I didn’t.”  This post is not meant to lay a guilt trip on you for enjoying your snow day–having today off for me is a true gift that I will take advantage of and I pray you will too.

It’s just a reminder of how thankful I am for Lovepacs and the generosity of our communities to feed these kids so they, too, can enjoy their breaks.

As you go about your day today–whether you are on the road or at home or at the park or at work–would you take a minute to pray for our Lovepacs kiddos?  And as you think about it on holidays and snow days where Lovepacs does not step in, would you continue to pray for these kids and their parents?

LoBlack heart (cards)epacs exists to be an expression of God’s love

by engaging our communities to serve children in need.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

